PDA

View Full Version : Neighbor etiquette questions (newbie here)

auroracon
09-16-12, 04:57 PM
Hi everyone, I just had a few questions about the proper etiquette when visiting neighbors restaurants.

I'm fairly new to the game and have been browsing the forums a little and saw a lot of people posting about being angry at things their neighbors are doing... so I thought, maybe it would be a good idea to find out what is the proper thing to do so I don't end up upsetting people without realizing it!

Also, I'm sure this will help other newbies out there who are reading it.

I'm not exactly sure how to order these questions, so I'm just gonna spout them off as I think of them.

1) Neighbors walls - is it expected (meaning, good etiquette/manners) to write on a neighbors wall everytime you tip their tables?

I've never done this before, but I see tons of others do it. I'm not exactly sure the purpose of it though, since in the newsfeed it tells you who tipped recently... but what is the consensus about this practice? Should we do it? Or is it just a personal preference of some, and if we don't do it, we aren't going to be looked down upon?

Also related to this, but I've seen people posting things like "full". I'm assuming that means they've visited the restaurant but there were no tables available to tip. Is this a common practice? Does it serve a purpose other than letting the restaurant owner know the intention was there to tip? So that they'll tip back? Or is it seen as obnoxious when people do this?

One more about walls - do you guys check your neighbors walls when you visit their restaurant? I know I read that some people have conversations over the wall, or get to know their neighbors that way... but me personally, I always forget I have one, so tend to never check it. And usually I don't write on other individuals walls when I visit cause I never know what to say, other than "awesome restaurant" (when their restaurant is particularly awesome).