PDA

View Full Version : Alternate Breeding Chart

rionkimchi
08-08-12, 05:37 PM
Hello, I am fairly new in playing this game. I have read many posts here and also studied the excellent shared resource for breeding. I also read the breeding information on another web site ( GAMETEEP (http://www.gameteep.net/dragon-story/wiki/) ).

It occurred to me there might be another way to "chart" the breeding combinations that could be helpful. If you create a grid of all the possible color combinations, and the degrees of rarity, you can fill in all the dragon types into this chart. On the GAMETEEP site, it seems to indicate that "order does not matter" so I only filled in the lower left part of the grid. In other words, RED+GREEN = GREEN+RED so I just "grayed out" one side.

Here is the result :

http://i48.tinypic.com/ogi1ow.jpg

There are a couple of observations I noticed:

1) In the breeding chart which the "sticky post" takes you to, MAGIC and ATHLETIC, which are RED+BLUE combinations, are both listed as RARE. It would seem to "fit the grid better" if MAGIC were COMMON.

2) The game has assigned PURPLE (RED+BLUE) as a color capable of yielding offspring that are "PURPLE+_____". However it looks like using PURPLE as a parent might also yield an offspring that is comprised of only RED or BLUE (plus the color of the other parent). This would explain why MAGIC shows up as a parent of so many different hybrids. In other words, a PURPLE parent might yield a PURPLE, RED or BLUE offspring. This is a guess but it seems to make sense.

3) The game is loosely following the subtractive color model where RYB then create R+Y=O, R+B=P and Y+B=G. Except that there are 4 "basic dragons" not 3, which are R, Y, B and G. As mentioned above, R+Y=P is also used as a main color component. So, have you noticed - - we are missing ORANGE ! There are combinations of R+Y of course, but these are not orange they remain as red+yellow.