PDA

View Full Version : If your app keeps crashing, read this thread

Supervolcano
10-15-10, 03:34 PM
Since the other thread I posted this in doesn't have a good title, I started a new thread so others will find the information.

Explanation for the crashes: Not enough RAM (temporary memory):

After being a long time iphone 3G user, and then switching to iphone4 a week ago, the answer is clear as day.

When I started playing, everything was fine, no crashes.

As my list of neighbors grew higher, somewhere around 1000 it started crashing occasionally, especially when I would try to do something else in the game (like collect on a factory) after having looked at my neighbors list.

By the time I got around 2000 neighbors, it would crash almost every time I did something after looking at neighbors list and/or dealing with factory contracts.

Over 2500 neighbors, and unlocking more factory contracts, the problems grew even worse.

This problem also affects things like receiving gifts and popup notifications from other apps.

----------------------

THen I got a new iphone4 ... and all the problems disappeared completely!

I have 3000 neighbors at level 68 (which means everything in the game is unlocked) and I can now pound on this game all day long without any crashes.

The only time I have had it crash is when playing 4 or 5 consecutive Mini Games.

------------------------

iPhone4 has 512MB of RAM.
iPad has 256MB of RAM.
iPhone3GS has 256MB of RAM.
iPhone3G has 128MB of RAM.

This is why the iPhone3G didn't get all the upgrades in the OS4 update (like multitasking, which is why City Story's Mini Game can't run on it), because it's RAM simply cannot handle it.

Supervolcano
10-15-10, 03:35 PM
As a result of my above reply, here's some tips to help you make the game playable on iPhone3G: